From 1 July 2020 we have a single set of unified Regional Boundaries, as illustrated below:

Download PDF version [PDF, 1.9 MB]  or scan the QR code.

Click image to enlargeScan QR code

For details on who from Fire and Emergency New Zealand is in control of an incident, refer to the interim M1 POP Command and control policy.

District maps

The current urban and rural fire districts remain in place for now. Links to these are below, except for:

  • urban boundaries defined in agreements under section 38 of the Fire Service Act 1975, and
  • certain areas of Maori land under Department of Conservation agreements that are to be excluded from rural boundaries.

Maps for unified districts will be released once these are consulted on and confirmed later this year. In the interim, any existing agreement for response or cover will continue.

You can also access these maps from SMART Map(external link).

Last modified: