The formation of Fire and Emergency New Zealand represents a once in a generation opportunity to enable New Zealand to have a fit for purpose 21st century fire and emergency organisation that is flexible, adaptable and efficient.

Fire and Emergency New Zealand has three foundational priorities that underpin the strategic priorities as follows:

Foundational priorities


We will fully integrate rural and urban fire services over the next 3 years, drawing on the strengths and differences of both sectors.


The safety, health and wellbeing of our people, and the public, is integral to everything we do.

Working together

We will consult and engage with our people and stakeholders in our work to deliver our services and in shaping the new organisation.

Strategic priorities

Fire reduction and prevention

We will build our capability to deliver effective community risk reduction activities to prevent unwanted fires and provide guidance on fire risk reduction and prevention.

Stronger engagement with communities

Engaging and connecting with our communities will enable us to identify and provide services that are appropriate to community risks and needs.

Coordinated services

Coordinated services will help ensure improved readiness for, and response to, incidents. We will build capacity and capability in a range of areas. This will enhance coordination within Fire and Emergency New Zealand and with other emergency services.

Our Structure

The Fire and Emergency New Zealand leadership structure is as follows:

 Executive Leadership Team

Kerry Gregory
Chief Executive

Deputy Chief Executive
Service Delivery


Tjene Tedeschi
Acting Deputy Chief Executive

Russell Wood

Russell Wood
Deputy Chief Executive
Organisational Strategy and Capability Development

Darryl Purdy

Darryl Purdy
Deputy Chief Executive
Finance and Business Operations

Brendan Nally

Brendan Nally
Deputy National Commander

Raewyn BleakleyRaewyn Bleakley
Deputy Chief Executive
Office of the Chief Executive


The Chief Executive reports to the Chair of the Fire and Emergency New Zealand Board(external link).

View minutes of the meetings of the Fire and Emergency New Zealand Board.(note: search for "Board minutes") 

Last modified: