The Local Advisory Committee ‘trial’ is now underway in Hawke’s Bay.  Fire and Emergency’s Board has appointed seven people to the trial Committee which will meet regularly over the next three months.

The seven members are:

  • Mick Lester (Chair)
  • Tania Kerr (Deputy Chair)
  • Jeremy Harker
  • Leon Stallard
  • Liz Lambert
  • Lisa Pohatu
  • Monique Heke

Find out more about the members here 

We will use what we learn from the Hawke’s Bay trial to establish Local Advisory Committees from the second half of this year, after the boundaries that will define each Committee’s area are confirmed by the Board. 

Fire and Emergency will consult our people and the public on establishing these boundaries for Local Advisory Committees. This consultation is expected to start in March and run for about six weeks.

In the lead-up to public consultation, Fire and Emergency will engage with targeted groups across the country to inform key stakeholders on the role of Local Advisory Committees ahead of making submissions.

Once established, Local Advisory Committees will provide advice to the Board and Fire and Emergency about communities’ risks and needs.

The Committees will be established under the Fire and Emergency Act 2017. They will not be involved in making any operational decisions.

If you have any questions about Local Advisory Committees or the Hawke’s Bay trial committee, please contact us at

Last modified: