Congratulations to the five firefighters who were this week presented with Queen Service Medals in Wellington as part of the New Year Royal Honours awards.

They are:

Maurie Doughty: Mangawhai VFB, Retired CFO and current Northland Fleet Coordinator. 54 years of service as both a career (1960-1996) and volunteer firefighter (1996-2014).  

Warren Feek: Matamata VFB, Deputy Chief Fire Officer with 43 years of service from 1974–current.

Paul Lyall: Career firefighter SSO at Thorndon Station (and Honorary Life Member at Paraparaumu Station) with 55 years of service from 1975–current.

John May: SSO and Volunteer firefighter at Wainuiomata with 48 years of service from 1969–current. Additionally, Volunteer Support Officer for Region 3 from 1994–current.

Frank McGuire: Volunteer for the Blackball VFB since it was established in 1963. Ex Chief Fire Officer 1987-1997.

The five recipients received their awards from the Governor General at a ceremony at Government House.

Congratulations to all.

Last modified: