Greytown Fire Station was officially opened by National Commander Russell Wood on Saturday.

The Brigade moved into the new station on 15 November 2021, however an official opening was delayed until now due to COVID-19. 

Greytown Volunteer Fire Brigade in the Wairarapa is one New Zealand’s old fire brigades, celebrating their 140-year jubilee this year. 

The old station had housed the Brigade since the early 60s and was no longer fit for purpose, with discussions on a solution taking place over a number of years. The completely rebuilt station, made possible with funding from the Government’s COVID-19 Response Recovery Fund, includes:

  • two appliance bays with front in and front out vehicle movement
  • fully accessible meeting/training room for brigade and community activities
  • operational equipment storage room, drying room, decontamination washroom, and general storage and cleaning areas
  • gender neutral transitional showers, laundry and PPE locker room
  • clean, accessible washroom facilities for public and brigade members
  • indoor and outdoor storage areas
  • new and upgraded communications systems and turnout
  • appliance wash and recommissioning facilities with appropriate interceptor traps for the treatment of run off. 

In his speech, Russell spoke of Greytown being a PRT brigade and their commitment to attending any motor vehicle accidents from the middle of Carterton to the top of the Remutaka Hill Road, and out to Ngāwi. He thanked volunteer firefighters for working to keep the community strong, resilient, and safe. He also noted the brigade’s additional volunteer work with the South Wairarapa Rotary Club each year to collect food for area food banks.

The event was also attended by Paora Ammunson, local Kaumatua, Mayor of South Wairarapa District Alex Beijen, Fire and Emergency Region and District leadership, along with members of the local brigade, their families, and members of the community.

The opening was followed by a community open day. Here are some photos taken by Terry Hann, who is a former member of the Brigade and is an Accredited member of The New Zealand Institute of Professional Photography.

Steve Meyrick, Chief Fire Officer of Greytown Volunteer Fire Brigade and Russell Wood, National Commander

L to R: Alex Beijen, Greytown Mayor; Steve Meyrick, CFO; Nick Pyatt, District Manager; Russell Wood, National Commander; Bruce Stubbs, Region Manager, Te Ūpoko.



Last modified: