Today, I’m pleased to announce the approved names of the Local Advisory Committee areas and the first seven locations where they will be established.

Local Advisory Committees (LACs) are an important part of Fire and Emergency’s future. They will be a strong local community voice, will provide us with advice about local risks and needs and help us to promote our risk reduction message. LACs will also play an important role in helping us plan for future community needs. 

Previous decisions on Local Advisory Committees

In July, I confirmed that Fire and Emergency will have 16 Local Advisory Committees(external link) with boundaries that match the Civil Defence and Emergency Management Group (CDEMG) boundaries.  This decision was based on submissions to public consultation in 2018.

That same update also confirmed that we will establish the first seven of those Local Advisory Committees by 30 June 2020.

Confirmed Local Advisory Committee names

I’m pleased to announce that the Minister of Internal Affairs has approved the Local Advisory Committee names. These names have been chosen to be the same as the Civil Defence and Emergency Management Group (CDEMG) area names. This is because CDEMG area names are well known and recognised in our communities.

  • Northland
  • Auckland
  • Waikato
  • Bay of Plenty
  • Tairawhiti
  • Hawke’s Bay
  • Taranaki
  • Manawatu/Wanganui (note Fire and Emergency LAC name will be Manawatū/Whanganui)
  • Wellington
  • Chatham Islands
  • Nelson/Tasman
  • Marlborough
  • West Coast
  • Canterbury
  • Otago
  • Southland

Confirmed locations for the first seven Local Advisory Committees

We have also confirmed the locations for the first seven Local Advisory Committees. These committees will be established before the end of June 2020.

The seven locations have been chosen based on:

  • information gathered through the LAC pilots conducted in 2016/17 and learnings from the Hawke’s Bay trial undertaken in early 2018
  • including diverse communities, with varying risks and activity ensuring we have at least one LAC in each Fire and Emergency region.

Service Delivery leaders at national and regional level have also been involved in the decision for which LACs we establish first.

The first seven LACs to be established are:


Fire and Emergency Region


Te Hiku/Region 1 Northland
Ngā Tai ki te Puku/Region 2 Tairawhiti
Te Ūpoko/Region 3 Hawke's Bay
Chatham Islands
Te Ihu/Region 4 Marlborough
West Coast
Te Kei/Region 5 Otago

Next steps

These seven LACs will progressively be able to commence operating from April 2020 and we will be working with region and local leaders to engage local communities over the coming weeks.

Our commitment to maintaining a strong local presence throughout the country through LACs, means that we will be recruiting a National Manager for Local Advisory Committees. This person will help guide the establishment of the first seven LACs and will work alongside local leaders to ensure we continue to connect with communities, understand their local risks and needs and work with them to develop plans to meet them.

We’ll continue to keep you updated on the Local Advisory Committees. For more information, visit the Local Advisory Committee page on the Portal(external link).

Last modified: