Today Internal Affairs Minister Tracey Martin has announced changes to the Board of Fire and Emergency New Zealand.

Please join me in congratulating Rebecca Keoghan, who has been appointed Deputy Chair of the Board for a three-year term. Rebecca has approximately 10 years’ experience as a company director with a health and safety focus and last year was recognised as a rural woman of influence.  In 2016 she was Fonterra’s Dairy Woman of the Year. 

Rebecca joins Wendie Harvey and Malcolm Inglis who were appointed to the Board last year and Te Arohanui Cook who was reappointed last year for a three-year term.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank outgoing Deputy Chair Dr Nicki Crauford and Board member Peter Drummond.

Nicki was appointed as the Board’s Deputy Chair in April 2016. She brought a wealth of governance experience to the role, including a sound understanding of rural fire gained during her time as Chair of the Wellington Rural Fire Authority and chaired our Integration and Change Committee.

Peter, who was appointed to the Board in April 2016, also brought extensive experience in governance and leadership to the organisation and chaired the Board’s Finance and Investment Committee. As a former Chair of the United Fire Brigades Association, he has an in-depth understanding of volunteers and the role they play in fire services.

The Board has worked very effectively over the past three years to bring rural, urban, career and volunteer firefighters together into our new organisation called Fire and Emergency New Zealand.  The Board was particularly pleased with the way the new organisation worked with partner agencies in the Tasman District this year to successfully combat one of the largest vegetation fires in recorded history. 

I want to thank Nicki and Peter for their contribution over the past three years which will stand Fire and Emergency in good stead in coming years.” 

You can read more about the Board changes in the Minister’s press release(external link).



Paul Swain has been reappointed for a further two years as Chair of Fire and Emergency

Last modified: