Edgecumbe Volunteer Fire Brigade took out top honours recently, winning the Supreme Award at Whakatāne District’s Trustpower Community Awards, that celebrate the achievements of volunteers.

Trustpower representative Alice Boyd says it was the Edgecumbe Volunteer Fire Brigade’s year to be recognised for all their efforts.

“The Brigade work hard for their community every day, but this year they’ve gone above and beyond. They gave approximately 2,700 hours of their time during the Edgecumbe floods, attended over 160 emergency callouts, and also found time to help with other local events like Guy Fawkes displays and Christmas in The Park. 

“Their unwavering dedication, support and love for their community is something pretty special,” says Miss Boyd.

Adrian Massey, Chief Fire Officer (Vol) at the Brigade, who leads the team of 23 says it was great to be acknowledged and win the award. It’s an absolute honour but really it’s what every volunteer brigade does.”

“You don’t sign up unless you are committed to serving your community. That’s what we’re here for. And without the support of our families, the community, Fire and Emergency NZ and our employers it wouldn’t be possible.”

“Things are definitely getting better for volunteers. Gears getting better. New breathing apparatus cylinders and radios have made a real difference and training and support is now on our doorstep. Changes do take time but we are seeing a difference and that’s absolutely fantastic,” says Adrian.

The Edgecumbe Volunteer Fire Brigade will represent their district at national awards in Queenstown next April.  Go Edgecumbe!

Back row – Syd Goodrick, Bruce Knight, Kevin Young, Devon Storey, Ryan Blackwood, Leighton Calder 3rd row – Cameron Cox, Ali Warner, Crystal Gledhill, Wendy Cobden, Linley Storey, Adam Greene, Steve Morrissey 2nd row – Iain Powell, Jarrad West, Tracey Lloyd, Amiee Dobson, Allen Kettlewell Front row – Adrian Massey, Charlie Tipper, Ron van der Horst, Peter Morley

Last modified: